About us

The Parish Council is the closest sector of local government to the community.   It has certain powers and duties under the law, and it must serve all residents fairly and equitably, taking into consideration different interests and concerns.

Decisions are made by the corporate Council, not by a group of councillors, and are made only at meetings, all of which are open to the public.

The Council has strong partnership links with Harborough District Council and Leicestershire County Council so we can be involved in decisions that affect the Kibworths. We also have close links with Kibworth Harcourt Parish Council.

Councillors do not receive a salary or an allowance but out-of-pocket expenses are covered.   Elections are held every four years when all councillors must be re-elected or stand down.  Vacancies arising between elections can be filled by co-option.   The council employs a part-time Clerk, a part-time Deputy Clerk, a part-time Groundsman and a part-time Street Orderly.

Face masks being offered free

Today Saturday 8th August several dozen masks were given to families responding to the parish council's FaceBook page.

Kibworth Beauchamp Parish Council applied for a grant from Leicestershire County Council earlier this year to be able to provide support for families in the two Kibworths during the coronavirus pandemic.  Money has been provided to both schools to assist with disadvantaged children, and some of the grant has been used to purchase cloth washable face masks from two local suppliers - Candy Cat Pins and the Wildlife Hospital.

More masks are being purchased and we plan to hand out some more next Saturday 15th August from 11.30am until 12 noon in the Kibworth Grammar School Hall car park.

Following government advice, we advise these masks are for 12 year olds and upwards.

Contact deputyclerk@kbpc.org.uk to order your masks for next Saturday pickup.


About us

Parish Councillors

Pat Copson, Ian Harrison, John Hooley, Mark Newcombe, Caroline Pitcher, Barbara Strevens, Simon Whelband, Kevin Feltham, Steve Woodhouse (Chair) and Andrew Munro (Vice Chair).

District Councillors

Philip King, Simon Whelband and Robin Hollick.

County Councillor

Dr Kevin Feltham

Parish Council History

The 1894 Local Government Act separated secular affairs from those of the church.  Previously, a committee, which met in the vestry of the parish church, had oversight of both under the authority of the priest.  Kibworth Beauchamp Parish Council was formed in the following year and met in the National School, now the Old School Surgery, in Station Street.  From 1901, the Council met in the Village Hall or the Oddfellows Hall in Paget Street, and from 1983 at the Kibworth School. Since 2013 meetings have been held in the Studio at Kibworth Grammar School Hall.


The Parish Council's policies and regulations are available below. They guide and instruct our actions and decisions. We review them every year. Other documents can be seen by asking the Parish Clerk. Our earlier records are at the Record Office for Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland in Wigston.

Parish councillors' register of interests are published on the Kibworth Beauchamp Parish Council page on the Harborough District Council website